Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ASIO buffer?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Age
    72
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214768

    ASIO buffer?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I get a lot of intermittent stuttering with the Bandlab Sonar. I never had it with the old one. I have the buffer set as high as it goes. Any other ideas? thanks.
    Paresh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    N.W. Indiana
    Posts
    1,037
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    6963833
    You want the buffers as low as they'll go with out any drop outs.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Age
    72
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214768
    Thanks. I'm getting dropouts even with a high buffer.
    Paresh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzsniffvoyage View Post
    You want the buffers as low as they'll go with out any drop outs.
    with dropouts how can you go any lower.
    the guy maxed out his buffers.
    how can going lower help ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    N.W. Indiana
    Posts
    1,037
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    6963833
    Quote Originally Posted by mr average View Post
    with dropouts how can you go any lower.
    the guy maxed out his buffers.
    how can going lower help ?
    the buffers open up the ram for processing, which causes latency. processing time that may not be needed. Some say keep the buffers low while tracking and high while mixing. I never adjust mine and do just fine.buffersettings.png
    Last edited by fuzzsniffvoyage; 04-01-2019 at 06:54.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Age
    72
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214768
    Thanks, I actually lowered the buffer & it seems better.
    Paresh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    14,393
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 608 Times in 555 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474864
    Quote Originally Posted by paresh View Post
    I get a lot of intermittent stuttering with the Bandlab Sonar. I never had it with the old one. I have the buffer set as high as it goes. Any other ideas? thanks.
    What plugs and other processes do you have going? Look at what is running and see if there are things you can cut out. Multiple reverb plugs come to mind as they can consume a lot of processing power.

    Turn off anti-virus.
    Defrag your hard drive.
    Freeze tracks that won't need adjustments. Especially VSTi's if you are using any.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Age
    72
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214768
    all good ideas - thanks!
    Paresh

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. DAE Playback Buffer (disc buffer)
    By banjo71 in forum Pro Tools Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2013, 01:55
  2. Presonus ASIO, Multimedia ASIO or WDM?
    By SoundAsleep in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 08:43
  3. ASIO buffer vs buffer number/size?
    By Roger Mac in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2004, 15:01
  4. US-122 vs. M-Audio Quattro / ASIO vs ASIO 2
    By jokku in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 06:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •