Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: after track 1 recording...help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Ok, this probably sounds very dumb, but i just got cakewalk 9 and have never used any other version so im new to this. here is my problem, I can record track one but when i go to record track two, i dont hear track one playback as im recording track two... for example, i will record drums on track one, then i will go to record track two which is guitar, but when i hit record, track one (drums) doesnt play back while im recording. I can play back after its recorded and it sounds great , one track or both, but i cant hear track one while im recording track two. im sure their is a simple solution but ive only had this for a few days and can figure it out, any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    San Mateo, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,071
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    873283

    Unhappy

    ronnyron,

    What's the soundcard you're using? A soundcard has to be capable of full-duplex operation to be able to play and record at the same time. Some cheaper soundcards can't do this; the old SB AWE64 could but the simultaneous playback was at a lower resolution; newer and higher-end cards are pretty much all full duplex these days.

    -AlChuck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Smile

    Hi, Im not sure what my sound card is but i think it is some type of agp on board thing, the computer is over 2 years old and it wasnt that expensive so I imagine that must be the problem, im getting a new gateway soon so hopefully that will fix it, I appreciate the help, thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Experimenting with your deoxyribonucleic acid
    Age
    48
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    8845

    Wink

    Try going to Tools- Audio options. click the advanced tab. you'll see a checkbox saying enable simultaneous record/playback. make sure its checked.

    Good luck
    Rich

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    39

    Unhappy

    If it's an onboard sound card it's most likely not full duplex . . . time to order a new sound card . . . then a mixer . . . then a better mic . . . then a compressor . . . then a POD . . . then . . .

    dum-dum-dum another one bites the dust !

    Regards,
    PAPicker

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Smile

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Torpid-x:
    Try going to Tools- Audio options. click the advanced tab. you'll see a checkbox saying enable simultaneous record/playback. make sure its checked.

    Good luck
    Rich
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    hey Torpid-x
    , i tried it and it worked, thanks alot, ive been trying to figure this out for days, i appreciate it.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •