Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Adat to Cakewalk?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Calgary Alberta Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Question

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I haven't actually tried this yet but I thought I'd maybe save myself some frustration but asking you guys about it first. If I run a line from the digital out of my Adat into the digital in on my computer, can I end up with 8 seperate unmixed tracks in cakewalk? Is it that simple or is there a bunch of other stuff I have to do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Wink

    As long as you've got a sound card that'll support 8 inputs you're good to go.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Wink

    Oops, I see you're talking about digital in, and I don't have the answer to that.

    Sorry.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Calgary Alberta Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Wink

    My soundcard is a Soundblaster Live Platinum if that helps any.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    309
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    999

    Wink

    You would need an ADAT interface card for your computer. "Lightpipe" Aardvark makes one for about $400. SB just wont do - You might be able to get 2 tracks via S/Pdif but in order to get 8 you need the ADAT card.


    lD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,368
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1050038

    Unhappy

    The MOTU 2408 will allow you to dump tracks digitally using the ADAT lightpipes. Actually you connect up to three ADATs to one MOTU 2408. Using a two channel card you would have to snyc up your computer to the ADAT and transfer two tracks at a time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Calgary Alberta Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Unhappy

    Thanks for the info. Sounds a little pricey right now but it's good to know. I guess I'll just stick to "old skool" mixin' for now.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •