Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: HD24 Recording Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HD24 Recording Problem

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I am trying to record a new track to an existing song as the bass line was messed up. I cannot find any way to do this. What am I missing? Could someone please walk me through it? I have copy and pasted my original 8 track song into a new 24 track song and want to kill track 5 and record on track 9. How do I do this? I have tried what I think is right but I think getting walked through it by someone else would be more helpful at this point rather than trying to describe everything i've tried on the hd24 and desk. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ArizonaMaybe
    Age
    69
    Posts
    9,552
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 173 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    9581210
    Yikes. I never edited on them, just dumped into the DAW for mix. I take it your playing back / mixing on a desk or you wouldn't be having to deal with it this way.
    Placebo stomps 96k ....... Recent projects
    Ray Catfish Copeland 'Got Love Jim Goodman 'Southern Steel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Ballwin, Mo. USA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    12,616
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    18113589
    When you create a session, you select 8 tracks or 16 or 24 tracks. If you selected 8 tracks, then that's all you have.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    2,864
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 411 Times in 376 Posts
    Rep Power
    4008612
    The choice is to either record on an unused track - which is what I'd do. So if the bass is on track 5, then the sensible thing with the 8 track blocks is to record the new bass to channel 13, then you have both, new and old. It's a case of feeding it to the right input, and selecting just that track for record, then going for it!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ArizonaMaybe
    Age
    69
    Posts
    9,552
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 173 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    9581210
    Quote Originally Posted by Track Rat View Post
    When you create a session, you select 8 tracks or 16 or 24 tracks. If you selected 8 tracks, then that's all you have.
    But he 'pasted (or ?) to a new song.. ? (Just for my own curiousity here
    Placebo stomps 96k ....... Recent projects
    Ray Catfish Copeland 'Got Love Jim Goodman 'Southern Steel

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HD24 MTC problem
    By polyroy in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 20:27
  2. Alesis adat HD24 problem
    By Intrepido in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 04:41
  3. Splitting a live recording into songs on the HD24
    By Sadsplace in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 18:07
  4. Advice for location recording with HD24
    By MoJones in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 11:16
  5. Possible problem with new HD24
    By HangDawg in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-16-2004, 07:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •