Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HD24 Hard Drives re-visited

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    West Midlands England
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Thumbs down HD24 Hard Drives re-visited

    Sign in to disable this ad
    After doing some more tests on my HD24 I can cofirm that it was the actions of the unit that caused the 2 new drives to malfunction. I have just replicated this fault using a 60gb Exelstor drive (IBM) and again I have ended up with a drive that is useless.

    My original Maxtor (30gb) drives still work perfectly in the HD24.
    All I can say is that at the moment KEEP AWAY from IBM drives.

    This has nothing to do with jumpers etc. etc. it is a fault with the HD24 which may only be my unit.

    Tony

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    8,251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    7053717
    Wow, that sucks. We use Seagate and Maxtors at uni, they've only had the HD24 about a year but no-one's mentioned any hard drive failures.
    :mad:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    West Midlands England
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22
    Hi Noisy, yes I am not too pleased about it. Have just ordered 2 off Maxtor drives, see how they get on!!

    Tony

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    8,251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    7053717
    I've always been warned off IBM drives by people on computer nerdy forums anyway. I ordered a new Maxtor yesterday, even though the Hitachi (IBM) ones were a bit cheaper.
    :mad:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    977
    Hey wilkee
    Thanks for the update as well as heads up on the IBM drives.
    I was following this thread to see your finding.

    I found out the hard way that the HD24 wouldn’t use smaller drives. I have several customers in to record 1 or 2 Karaoke style recordings using only 3 or 4 tracks etc.
    They sometimes want to buy the drive and I don't want to sell a 10 gig drive that's hardly used so I bought a box of 2.5 gig drives for just this client. And wouldn't you know it they won't work in the HD24.
    So I'm forced to transfer files to computer and dump the files to my external drive caddie. One extra step but the 2.5 gig drives won't go unused this way.
    Thanks again

    C

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    West Midlands England
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22
    Have now installed 2 new 40gb Maxtors and they formatted and loaded first time. It will be a long time before I try Hitachi (IBM) drives in my HD24 again although the replacement Hitachi (IBM) drives are working perfectly in some external USB drive caddies that I have for backup.

    Tony

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,732
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    30
    One of the things I like the most about hr.com is reading what everyday people like you and I have experienced with products as opposed to reading what the manufacturers want us to read about their products.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    West Midlands England
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22
    The main problem I had was as well as not mounting the drive it actually ruined them in the process.

    Tony

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,732
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by wilkee
    The main problem I had was as well as not mounting the drive it actually ruined them in the process.

    Tony
    I never checked mine after they didn't mount... I just returned the drives to the store, so I don't know if they were ruined or not. I wish I knew why the newer Western Digital drives don't work.
    One of the things I like the most about hr.com is reading what everyday people like you and I have experienced with products as opposed to reading what the manufacturers want us to read about their products.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. re-using hard drives
    By montage in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2004, 11:01
  2. Rack-Mountable Hard Drives
    By thehouseofshawn in forum The Rack
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 08:00
  3. Cubase SX and Hard Drives
    By yarrick in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2003, 23:26
  4. hard drives and latency
    By yarrick in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2003, 22:22
  5. SCSI or IDE hard drives?
    By storm in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-21-2001, 16:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •