HELP! Did I get duped? AKAI MG 1212

Meej

Hi Everyone,

So I'm a newb and I pretty muched jumped the gun on a pretty clean AKAI MG1212 and stand. I paid $400. DId I get duped. I didnt quite know what I was getting into and was basically jones for a analog recorder. The seller told me I shouldnt worry about getting tapes and such as they are availble through certain companies. He also said the preamps were very diserable for their warmth and what not. Needless to say after the transaction I googled the unit and came across how scarce the tapes really are. He did give me a few used tapes. Now all these questions are popping up in my head and cant help but stress....
Is this machine worth keeping?? Are the preamps on it good enough to justify me keeping it even if never find any new tapes? I also heard that I you can demag the used tape; does this work? What should I look for when attempting to buy used tapes?

Please help...
Thanks in advance,
Meej

Last edited:
Preamps are nothing to get excited about but they are decent enough. The tape inside those cassette shells is Ampex 456. I wouldn't trust that tape not to have sticky-shed problems. However, if you can take the shells apart and re-assemble, load them up with new 456 compatible tape and you shouild be good to go.

The 1212 is a pretty rare unit so there isn't a lot of info on them, but its not because they are bad. Everything I've read/heard is that they are ruggedly built and solid performing. A really neat unit.

If yours is in good shape and everything works and you got some tapes and the manual with it I'd say 400 is not a bad price...fair.

+1 to Rruskin...you may want to buy a new reel of RMGI SM911 and just reload those tape shells...NOS tapes come up every now and then on eBay...do a search for Akai + tape.