AKAI 4000DS mkII

captain fuzz

yea

i got one of those, i know nothing about it at all, cept how to run it and what not

the tape heads are all out of alignment, and in my poking and proding i think i may have done something by using a magnetic tipped screwdriver...

the heads may be worn anyhow, so I'd like to know where i could score new ones, i guess all three, and how much i'm gonna spend

or if they can be demagetized or whatever.

i'd also like to know if anyone knows how to use these features, specifically how to erase and record. it doesn't seem to want to do it, that could be because the erase out is really far out of alignment?? when i frst got i played a tape, and i heard nothing, i thought the thing was trash but i started playing with the alignment screws, sound! both channels!

but to the best of turning screws its always muddy sounding. and when i flip tape for the b side all i get is the a side in reverse!

the unit works perfect, inside everything looks very upkept, oiled, all the rubber bits are very new looking and full of life!

if anyone can help me with anything i need to know about this machice that would be really cool!

thanks.

captain fuzz said:
the tape heads are all out of alignment, and in my poking and proding i think i may have done something by using a magnetic tipped screwdriver...the heads may be worn anyhow, so I'd like to know where i could score new ones, i guess all three, and how much i'm gonna spend or if they can be demagetized or whatever.
I have worked a bit (years ago) with an Akai 4000DB, which was an almost identical unit but with Dolby B.

You should really demag the heads before doing anything else. This recorder is a 2 channel 4 track domestic machine, not sure if you can get alignment tapes for these or not, you may need to get a 4 track tape from somewhere to get it roughly aligned.

Search the analogue forum here for 'demagnitize' and 'alignment' and you'll find some useful threads.

captain fuzz said: