Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: sample rate problem?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    sample rate problem?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I'm using the Alesis io2 with Ableton live 10 lite. I swear I didn't change any settings, but now it's recording audio around a semitone too low. I've tried changing the sample rate among other things, but is it possible to change the sample rate on the interface itself?
    Current settings:
    In/out sample rate = 48000
    Driver type = MME / Direct X (It won't record sound at all when I switch it to ASIO)
    SR & Pitch Conversion = high quality

    Any help for a novice greatly appreciated, I just wasted 3 hours of my life

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    8,442
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 612 Times in 565 Posts
    Rep Power
    14820464
    Are you using the SPDIF input?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to bouldersoundguy For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    no, there doesn't seem to be one on this interface...
    input to laptop is USB, mic input is xlr

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    8,442
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 612 Times in 565 Posts
    Rep Power
    14820464
    Quote Originally Posted by Beccawright85 View Post
    no, there doesn't seem to be one on this interface...
    input to laptop is USB, mic input is xlr
    You must have the Express version.

    Sometimes if there's a digital input it can force the interface to convert at a different sample rate than the DAW is set to record. Then you end up with a mismatch between the actual sample rate and the rate flagged in the file, so it plays at the wrong speed. I wonder if somehow that happened with your interface, even though it doesn't have a digital input.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bouldersoundguy View Post
    You must have the Express version.

    Sometimes if there's a digital input it can force the interface to convert at a different sample rate than the DAW is set to record. Then you end up with a mismatch between the actual sample rate and the rate flagged in the file, so it plays at the wrong speed. I wonder if somehow that happened with your interface, even though it doesn't have a digital input.
    Yes it's express, forgot to mention.
    Is that likely, considering I haven't switched any cables around or anything?
    It's so weird, it's never happened before and I've done several recordings with this setup. I must've changed some setting whilst experimenting with stuff I don't fully understand?!
    Is there a way to do some sort of 'reset' procedure to try and fix it?
    Thanks for your input

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sample rate problem or something else?
    By Aakash in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 05:27
  2. Sample rate problem? How do I fix it?
    By thebigcheese in forum Don't Fear The Reaper
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 08:53
  3. sample rate problem
    By johnnypraze in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2005, 19:57
  4. sample rate problem
    By johndavidstuts in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2002, 23:02
  5. Sample rate problem
    By Cooperman in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2000, 12:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •