Remix Contest

I don't know if its really dead here, but I'm a relative newcomer. I enjoy reading what you guys are doing, and learning about about the peculiarities of digital recording.

Although I've been playing music for over 50 years and have dabbled in recording since the mid 70s, its always been a hobby. I've been slowing gathering recording gear, most of it on the lower end of the spectrum compared to what some guys are using. Still, the stuff I'm recording today is worlds better than what I ever got with a tape deck, and its cheap enough that I don't feel guilty about forking out a couple of hundred for something just to try it out.

One thing that I have noticed is there is often a disconnect between the original question (or request for a recommendation) and some of the answers. Case in point was a user who asked about recording guitar, and considering a Blue Yeti vs Scarlet Solo package. One fellow recommended he buy an SM57, and Royer 121 and a U87 along with Neve Portico. That's about $5000 worth of stuff to record a guitar and voice, most likely in a bedroom or den. Its like telling a 16 yr old that he needs to buy at least Mercedes or a Ferrari when he gets his license to drive.

Guilty. :p

I've offered "Google is your friend" as an answer many times when I saw people were just being too lazy to search a bit for their info. :D

I guess it's harder to search Google than post a question and wait 24 hours for an answer. :confused: