Is Blondie Rock, Punk, New Wave, Disco or All Of The Above?

Is Blondie : Rock, Punk, Disco, New Wave or All The Above?

• Total voters
I think the difference between jazz, bebop and other original musical forms is, those musicians knew their instruments. Even if they were self taught, they knew what they were doing. Punk rockers just picked up their instruments and made sound
I think of that as being something of a myth that, interestingly, both the pro and anti punk press built up, each for their own nefarious reasons. Granted, some punk musicians weren't as schooled in their instruments as the 60s generation were in theirs when they actually started making records, but most of them on both sides of the Atlantic could play. The ones that really couldn't play were few and far between in reality.
It became part of the lexicon that Sid Vicious and Paul Simenon couldn't play bass and were chosen in the Pistols and the Clash for reasons other than musicality. But they really were the exception rather than the rule and in Simenon's case, he actually learned his bass and became a pretty useful player. He was suitably aided and abetted by Topper Headon who was a proggy, jazzy drummer and Joe Strummer & Mick Jones who both played in very unpunky outfits and knew their guitars. That's just one example, but generally, punk musicians could play and enjoyed minimalism.
What I think is fair to say is that punk musicians weren't particularly interested in expanding the range of what their instruments could do or improvising. Those kind of concerns and experimentation had, in most of their views, turned much popular music into a boring exercise in masturbation, which their whole modus operandi was to get away from.
Cracking was familiar sounding, yet sufficiently different. I think it's one of her greats. I think Lou Reed could have done with overdosing on early Vega ! :D

From this -

Came this -