Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Late arriving Musicians

Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Quote Originally Posted by witzendoz View Post
    I was actually writing this as a guide for performing musicians not to get there late. As a sound engineer I pride myself on giving every act the best possible sound that can be achieved with the gear available and the room acoustics. For me to do this the musicians themselves have to give me half a chance by getting there early and telling me what they need.
    I'd like to make it clear that I was not in any way trying to disagree with this part. The performer really should act professional too. That means making sure to bring everything you need, arriving early ("if you're on time, you're late"), communicating clearly and courteously with the rest of the team, and preferably planning ahead for any contingencies. It also means dealing gracefully with obstacles and sometimes just working with what you've got. Really, all the same things the sound person should be doing.

I never really expect anybody else to live up to the standards I hold for myself, but wouldn't it be nice?

I actually only run sound for a couple shows a year, but just this past week was the annual music festival in my town, and I'm on the crew that provides sound for many of the venues. One of the guys (one of my oldest friends actually, who started running sound by helping me way back in high school) got fired after Friday night cause he was in a terrible mood and was I guess pretty shitty to some of the performers. It was pretty embarrassing for me because of my association with him. The club he was in is run by friends of mine and I kind of talked him up and then...