Any Tips 4 Live Sound?

drummer_phobia

First of all 'hey everyone and thanxs in advance for any help!'

Ok....simple really, im a student putting on a 'Rock Night' with some buddies from college. We have everything sorted and the equip is good.

What i do need tho is any advise that anyone can give me on working the desk. I have experience using desks and have been and recorded in a studio doing my own mixing BUT never live sound.

If you could possible give me some advice/tips on doing live sound and what to be wary of and what to and what not to do on my first attempt at this, all help is gratefully appritiated!

Thanxs
G1B0

P.s not sure if this is the best place to ask this.....if not plz point me in the right direction :D :D

Set up a few hours ahead of time and ring out the room. Make sure you have a decent 31 band graphic EQ or the equivalent. Find out where the room gets squirrely and feeds back; cut those frequencies a bit. If the idea is strange, do a Google search on "ring out" and you should get a few decent hits.

If you are using monitors, watch them like a hawk. These are the things that usually feed back first.

Spend some time doing a real sound check with real volumes prior to the performance.

Mark the mics and direct signals on the board because when something is misbehaving is not the time to forget whether the bass is channel 6 or 7.

Get some help; this is too much work to do alone. Find someone who has done it once or twice.

Use a snake if you have one; you will be controlling the sound much better from halfway out in the audience.

Mix in mono unless you have a good reason not to.

Having a talkback circuit is a good thing, but if you don't have one, try to work out some kind of signal with the band to get their attention and vice versa.

Easy on the effects.

Easy on the booze. Drink water instead.

Have a blast!!

drummer_phobia said:
First of all 'hey everyone and thanxs in advance for any help!'