What to do with this super-ugly solder joint o' mine...

sweetbeats

Reel deep thoughts...
All pride aside, and you'll understand why when you look at the pic below, I need help.

I'm a little frustrated. Trying to solder a 1/4W resistor onto the Mother PCB for my Tascam 58 reel-to-reel. This is the second attempt and I'm just making a mess. I have limited SM soldering experience, but I do have some and I've never encountered this problem, and I've made up lots of cables which is to say I'm comfortable with a soldering iron but...

Okay. The foil has lifted and broken, so that's one question: what to do about that. The second question is I'm trying to figure out why the solder is not really welding to the foil (this is happening with the joint at the other end of the resistor as well). It sort of is but in the picture you can kind of see how it has puckered under. The solder definitely has an affinity for the lead on the resistor...so I'm looking for suggestions there about what I might be doing wrong. This is the same iron that I've used for every single solder joint I've ever done. I'm using 0.032" 60/40 rosin core solder.

I'm used to placing the tip of the iron on the work for a brief moment and then feeding solder into the joint and holding the tip on the work until I see the solder wick into the joint. This joint don't wick...the solder just clings to the resistor lead. Couple days ago I soldered an LED socket onto a channel PCB on my mixer...no trouble at all. I'm making a mess of this one...

ugly%20solder%20joint%20%232.jpg

Dirty leads maybe? Try a tiny drop of liquid flux (apply with a toothpick) before resoldering to clean the parts. Solder does not take well on dirty, corroded, greasy, waxy surfaces. And clean the tip of your iron frequently, a quick wipe across a damp 100% cotton cloth usualy is enough (while the iron is hot) for this. A little contamination can really mess up an otherwise perfect soldering job.