Repair mic from microphone-parts for money?

johnnywayne

Hey, I bought a kit from microphone-parts to upgrade my 990.

I'm not a newbie to recording, but I am definitely a newbie soldering and building my own electronics. The kit was bought some time ago, there is much more info on the pages now and it looks even harder. I'm not sure the exact kit I bought is still there.

They were extremely helpful. I sent pictures in and they did what they could from pictures. They said the soldering looked ok and the mic did work, so I got some part right. The problem is that the gain is really low. Really low. I didn't replace the capsule yet, but that shouldn't affect the gain a whole lot, if anything it should be higher.

I have MS and since it was a while ago that I bought it, I can't hold a soldering iron anymore or do anymore work at all pretty much on it. I'd be surprised if I could screw it back together most days. So I need some help.

I don't believe it's not fixable since it at least passed signal last time I turned it on. I know what I would've checked next, had I been able to. I'm looking for someone to finish up this project for me, for pay of course. Most heavy lifting has been done it seems like, all the capacitors and what not are in place. I need someone to check my work and put on the capsule. I can send pictures and what they had to say as soon as yahoo lets me search again. Or not if you prefer to start from scratch.

Please help, I'm tired of seeing its poor body sitting with the other mics.

Anyone interested? Shoot me a price.

As an example, this has taken over an hour to peck out a letter at a tine.

Southern U.S, unfortunately, there's nothing much at all down here, certainly not a music shop that would work on something like this, if that's what you were thinking; Unless you want to give it a shot.