power/battery question

famous beagle

I'm an electronics newbie, so forgive me is this is 101 stuff. I'm reading everything I can find and building projects, but I'm still having trouble understanding how it all comes together. I mean, I know Ohm's law, and all the permutations of that and all, but just because I know that 1 + 1 = 2, I'm still not entirely sure where the 1 came from and why it's being added to the other 1, etc.

Anyway, I was reading through Craig Anderton's classic Electronic Projects for Musicians book (anyone else notice that book has a period at the end of the title for some reason? :confused: ), and I have a question.

I was wondering why he uses 2 9V batteries to power most of his designs. I think I may have figured out why, but I'm not sure. I read in the earlier part of the book that most of the projects are designed to work for line-level instruments (like a keyboard), instead of high-z instruments (like a guitar). He mentions that you can adjust a resistor value if you'd like to use high-z instruments with them.

So is that the reason for the increased power supply? Because they're supposed to operate at line-level?

And if so, why exactly is that? (This is where my understanding falls short.)

Thanks to any who can help me out with this.

Because he's using the 2 batteries as a split-rail power supply. When you ground the connection between the two batteries, that gives you a +/-9V supply. Opamps like to use a split supply. Strictly speaking, that's not true; opamps don't have a ground reference at all. Look at an opamp sometime, there is no ground pin. All they care about is the difference between their inverting and noninverting inputs.