newbie to build a preamp

corban

So I'm a total noob at electronics, but I do like learning things when doing so saves me money. There's a DIY kit being offered at prodigy pro that ethan pointed out which has everything for a Great River preamp except transformers, power supply, and a case. Is it realistic for me to try this or am I asking for trouble? I don't even really know how to solder properly, although I know a couple people who could do it fine or show me.

A kit is usually a good project. The only barrier is the tools you will need to complete the job:

- decent soldering iron. Something like the Weller WLC100 or better.
- multimeter. The guys on prodigy-pro will help you debug problems, but without a multimeter, you will have no information to help troubleshoot.
- drill press & step bit for drilling holes in the case. If you want to mount something like an IEC power jack, you'll also need a punch, and for stuff like VU meters you need a milling machine.
- hand tools: needlenose pliers, clippers, wire strippers.

If you have friends with that stuff, you can save quite a lot of money.

The only downside to this project is parts of it will be expensive (transformers). Also I don't know if the PSU PCB is part of the kit, but there are plenty of PSU PCB kits out there. Fivefish offers one, but I don't know if it's appropriate for this kit--it's a +/- supply for an opamp, whereas I think the Great River is class A discrete? I don't really know.

IMO, you'd be better off with a much simpler kit at first. The classic first project is a fuzz pedal; they have about six components. It will be a lot easier to figure out which joint is bad, versus the dozens of components in a Neve-ish pre. They also have preamp kits which are supposedly pretty decent, but much easier to put together. I was just looking at Seventh Circle Audio's stuff, they have a recommended first pre project which looks rather straightforward. You'd have to cook up your own PS and chassis.