How to balance an unbalanced signal?

dualflip

Audio Engineer
So im making my own pre-amp based on the INA217 IC, the thing is this, i have an unbalanced output from the pre-amp and i want to make a circuit to balance it, im guessing ill be needing a balanced output driver, but no idea on how to do it. Does anyone has a schematic of an already made circuit in order to balance this signal?, the other option is to balance the signal using an output transformer but i also have no idea on how to do this, i have some electronic skills but im no electronics engineer so any help you can offer will be much appreciated.

Last edited:
easiest way is take a duel op-amp and have input to one of the + and the other -... ground the unused inputs... the two outputs will be out from each other.... make sense???

Yes, it does make sense, i was thinking of using a 5534 to do the job, but i finally decided for the THAT 1646 ballanced line driver, im planning on feeding the unbalanced signal into it and wire it according to the 1646 data sheet, now the question is: will it work?, BTW with a dual-op amp you mean something like the NE5532?

You can also do it with a small transformer with a center tap on the secondary.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

Yes i also wanted to do that, using a transformer like the OEP A262A7E which is 1+1:1+1, and i dont know if its possible with the OEP A262A2E which is 1+1:2+2, but the thing is that i dont really know how to wire it. Heres the link of the data sheet: http://www.canford.co.uk/ProductResources/ig/2739.pdf

Theres the wiring schematic, but i dont know how to wire it (exactly in wich tip will the unbalanced signal will go in, which pins does the balanced signal goes out, wich pins will be interconected, etc..)

There are many ways to ballance a Unballanced signal ,some are extremely easy and only need a couple extra parts and some are more complex....