EQ circuit help - width?

slowmotion

Hi Guys

I'm just wondering what determines the width of an EQ band. In my desk (an old live girl), my EQ is at 150hz, 2.2khz and 8khz, +/- 15db. Behold the schematic:

eq.gif

If someone could talk me through this. I know the bigger value caps are for the bass side and the tiny ones are the treble; so fiddling these values will move around the frequency (that said I'm not really down with the relationship between the two caps, but still)...

My question is, I guess, what determines the Q or the width of the notch/boost? If it's the 10k or 220k resistors, could I replace these with pots and have a kinda semi parametric Q thing going on? For that matter, if I replaced the caps with adjustable caps, could I sweep it...?

I've tried reading many an article but it's hurting my brain and I just need someone to spell it out a bit easier using what I see above if possible? Any help much appreciated!

I'm no expert but...

I would imagine that a pot would sweep the ranges but you'd need some sort of control for the width of that Q sweep as well otherwise you'd end up with 3 exact replicas. Now, different valued pots (and the values I have no clue) would be my guess but I'm absolutely, by no means an electronics expert, but I've done my share of tinkering.

A very interesting prospect through. I'm eager to hear how this works out if you go through with it.