car stereo amp for p.a.

mikeyhasnobones

"stop dropping my mics."
hey all!
so i have a quick (possibly dumb?) question! my drummer and i are trying to build a p.a. on the cheap (i.e. free...we're deadbeats) while cleaning out the basement we came across a 50 watt car stereo power amp. building the cabinets is no problem but we were definitely curious to see if we could use the amp to power them by hooking up a little mixer to it. is this gonna work at all?? can we just rig up a 12 volt power supply for it and go ahead? or is there more to it? thanks in advance for your help, i'm a total noob at this :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
mikey

Sure, it'd work, but it wouldn't be very loud... 50w isn't enough power for a PA, your actual singing would prolly be louder than the mix coming from the PA! If you had a bigger amp, ie a few hundred watts, you'd need a pretty big power supply, one where it'd be more cost efficient to just go buy a regular poweramp.

I read somewhere that car stereos are pretty crappy because they are played in a loud noisy vehicle where super quality doesn't matter.... So if a good regular PA amp was Class A, they would be Class D....

No reason it would not work- but the advise above, that power will be disapointing, is prob. true. Still, what do you have to lose? Go for it- PA's are "sound reinforcement," meaning that if you sing just into the room, your voice will be of a certain volume; if you put any "PA" between you and the room, and sing thru it, your voice will be somewhat lounder. Maybe not enough to make a difference, but, again, try it.

If you are using, say, 200-watt power capacity speakers, I would not try to drive them with a 50-watt amp, esp. a car stereo amp. Clipping-produced distortion will destroy your speakers in one practice session.