Vocal recording levels

MusicKen_

Hello,
I am fairly new to recording vocals but have been recording instrumentals for a few years now. My daughter is a singer and we have recorded a few tracks. I need advice on recording vocals and post processing them.
She sings with emotion, and her voice varies in volume. It sounds great live, but when recording it doesn’t work very well. Her soft parts seem quiet, and her louder parts are very up front. Any recommendations on processing a vocal and evening out the overall level?
I’ve tried compressing but I seem to over compress to get the quiet parts on the same level as the louder parts.

Hello,
I am fairly new to recording vocals but have been recording instrumentals for a few years now. My daughter is a singer and we have recorded a few tracks. I need advice on recording vocals and post processing them.
She sings with emotion, and her voice varies in volume. It sounds great live, but when recording it doesn’t work very well. Her soft parts seem quiet, and her louder parts are very up front. Any recommendations on processing a vocal and evening out the overall level?
I’ve tried compressing but I seem to over compress to get the quiet parts on the same level as the louder parts.

Manual gain editing.

What DAW are you using? What compressor?

Sometimes you have to result to automation, i.e., changing the volume fader throughout the track, but compression should get you pretty close. The trick is learning how to use all those settings, like ratio, threshold, [makeup] gain, attack, release, and knee (when present).

Lots of information on using compressors, and I probably do it wrong according to someone, but here's how I'd tackle that track.