Vocal effects for hard rock music?

Sometimes if you have background vocals that are between two lines in a song you could use compression.

Sometimes i've heard reverb added. other than that its plain (as far as i can tell)

Im no expert so you shouldn't go soley on what i say as i am prone to say things that make absolutly no sense sometimes.

hr vocal

Is it plain old fashioned hard rock or modern/progressive metal.
Big dark hall reverb and some not too subtle delays were popular in early eighties hard rock. If you record modern mettallic/progressive then you may try some more subtle room reverb (Waves Trueverb if you use software plug-ins) , very clean compressor (C4) for that modern "in your face" sound and some vocal exciter/quad chorus...as used by James La brie (Dream theater). You may use some very subtle stereo flange .The main thing in modern progressive Hard rock vocal is avoiding too much reverb and delay in final mix. If you record new- age music then you may turn "cathedral" reverb to the max. but not in modern HR.

try shitty mics...c.b./telephone mics... a touch of distortion can work... well, these are for your lo-fi "cool" rock... mess around with e.q., cutting the arse can put the vox in an interesting place in the mix... remember people hear voices day in day out so your effects have to either be subtle or completely obvious, otherwise they will just sound chud...

"try shitty mics..."

New for NAMM! AKG's new line..."Shitty Mics"! Special frequency spikes to give you that "shitty" sound you love so much! The others may try, but We're The Shit!

:D :D :D

Bob
Shaken, not stirred

hehehe... well i'm serious, works nicely on verses, then you pow into the chorus with big clean vocals....

hmmm... lets keep this quiet b-bob, we've discovered a niche market.... maybe we could seel the idea to radioshack

.....too late :D

I would say simply add reverb to taste.
Perhaps harmonize with a backing vocal of a fourth.