tips on hooks~

"And just remember what fuckin' language you speek; or attempt to." - Krystof

Krystof,

As a Northern lad myself, I find your pseudo-macho statements pathetic. You give English people a bad name with your ignorance of life. Also, you need to learn the difference between "They're" and "There".

Your stereotyping of Southern people as all having "posh" accents is ridiculous. The Southern working class have a completely different accent from the middle and upper classes. Ever heard a cockney accent? I would hardly call that a posh accent. My advice to you my friend, is to rid yourself of that chip on your shoulder.

PS. Regarding song writing formula's, I don't even think about it, it just comes to me. Every song I write is different, I don't think about songs in choruses and verses.

Just my two cents/pence

PPS. It's spelt "Speak" NOT "Speek"

Hi Guys....I am a Newbie, but I think I may have something to add to get us back on track. Here are a couple of songs to check out for Cool Hooks!! (1) THAT'S WHAT I LIKE ABOUT YOU...Ramones
and SOMEWHERE OUT THERE L Ronnstad i think
These songs are very different from each other but each makes excellent use of the Hook. Listen and you may get some good ideas of your own....chazba

I suppose that, like songs generally, some hooks really say something unique and some just stick in mind because they're stupid, annoying, salacious or otherwise base in some way. The latter we can call "cheap". If it's a "good" hook, I guess, it's unique and effectively and simply communicates a complete thought or feeling. So name some classic hooks:

I wanna be sedated
I can't get no satisfaction
All you need is love
We are living in a material world and I am a material girl
Girls just want to have fun

There are thousands of course.

What's your best? Mine are probably:

I hate you Spring
Would you like to buy some time?
God is in the internet.

Agree with buf. bob...