Is there a place to listen to Songwriter demos?

Pepper249

I'm planning an extended trip to Nashville -- just to hang around and see what its all about.....I'm gathering some songs I wrote and I want them to be as good as I can get them to be and maybe pitch them to a few publishers if I happen to meet any of em.

I read a book - the Songwriter's Guide to Nashville - and in it the author states that the demo has to be simple -- one or two instruments and very strong vocal...this book is 3 years old though -- i wonder if things have changed?... then I read another book that says the demo has to be much more then that...almost radio ready.

Is there a place on the web where songwriters pitch their songs so I can listen to them and get a feel for what a songwriters demo is really all about? (i'm not an artist) .. just a songwriter.

I listen to alot of the songs on this forum but I do not see where there are a whole lot of them that are in the format of songwriter demo....... there really is alot of talent in this BBS! I love reading that post and listening to the original music you folks come up with......... Patti :)

Hi Patti,
Well.............

The only site I know of that is based out of Nashville...
and run by songwriters who pitch constantly....
and who claim to know what is good and what is not good for the Nashville market...
is TuneSmith...click here... ....

Networking seems to be the way to go...
Good places to hang out in Nash-Vegas would be Douglas Corner and the Broken Spoke...

Good luck and take it easy,
Joe

Hey Patti – I actually moved to Nashville about 3 years ago after a few years of traveling down twice a year to do exactly what you are doing. Here is some advice from my experience FWIW.