Singing and Playing at same time.. tips??

Moonis 29

I've been playing guitar for 3 years, learned on my own. But that's the thing, I've only played guitar... so singing! Well... I can sing, and I have lyrics written, it's PLAYING and SINGING at the same time is what I'm having trouble with! I'm always being told by family and friends how much they love hearing me play my acoustic because of the creativity and techniques they're not used to hearing from professional artists. So I definatly have confidence in my playing skills!

I'm a big Dave Matthews fan, and I listen to alot of John Mayer, Jack Johnson, and Granian... so hopefully that gives you some kind of idea what kind of music I play!

Any tips on learning how to play my guitar AND sing at the same time? Like which I should write first, or try doing first, etc..??

And thank you in advanced for all the tips and tricks!! =)

Normally, if you are simply strumming chords - it should not be too difficult to sing and play at the same time.

If you are trying to play complicated guitar parts and sing at the same time - that can be difficult for even the best players.

Most players (and most song arrangements) allow for a more sparce (ie: simple) guitar part during the vocal parts and then play riffs/accents in between vocal line or vocal phrases.

The artists you mention do it all the time.

I think I started about the same way as you. Pretty good at guitar, liked complexity in the rhythm parts.

I think you should do a dual approach. Find a song to cover and practice that's relatively easy with constant 1/8 note or 1/4 note rhythm, or simplify an existing song. This should help with playing both at the same time because you won't have to worry so much about the guitar and can concentrate on singing.