Recording Vocals Tips...

maxabillion

Hey, relative newbie here. I've mainly been working at recording guitars for a while, and now I need to move on to vocals. I am recording in my bathroom (natural reverb is good, curtains for dampening, etc) and I need some tips. I know that there is no single "right way" to record anything because there are too many factors, but do you have any tips on mic placement (directly in front of my face, or higher or lower? angled? etc). Would the best way to capture the natural reverb be two mics, or recording in a single one from a distance (i.e. 2-3 feet) or should I just sing into the damn thing from a normal 6 inch distance? I am using a large diaphragm condenser (with pop filter) in a largely rectangular bathroom plugged into my Fast Track Ultra (through XLR - no separate preamp or anything) and into my computer. My voice is baritone in range, and pretty resonant, but on my initial attempts at recording, it sound slightly tinny and thin. I know it is the voice as well as recording technique, but I am already working on my voice, so now I need help with the technique.

I also want to record vocals and guitar at the same time. Should I put the amp in a separate room, or just do it all 'live' in the bathroom?

As you can see, I am once again in over my head (it tends to happen a lot) so any advice on recording my voice would be a great help. And if there is any addition hardware I might need (better mic, preamp, etc) please let me know what model you may recommend, although know that my budget is small.

If the vocals are sounding thin, you might want to try singing closer to the mic. I, personally, record my vocals in an acoustically "treated" bedroom and get decent results. In the end, you should just keep experimenting until you get the sound you're looking for :drunk::D