Recording Vocals Pitch Issues

hcaulfield

Long story short, I am a pianist/singer having trouble tracking good vocals. When I'm practicing at home, I'll set up a small recorder for playback and I normally don't hear too many problems with my pitch... but as soon as I start recording, my pitch seems to go WAY off course. I've tried just about everything and would really like some input from you fellow singers on what makes you most comfortable when you're recording vocals. Any advice would be appreciated.

DAW: Logic
Mic: Shure Sm7b
Headphones: Sennheiser HD-380 pros.

Thank you :D

Hi,
Do you keep the headphones covering both ears when you're recording?
Some people find that off-putting. It's not uncommon to slide one ear off so you can hear yourself naturally while you record.

Thank you for the quick reply.

I have tried both ways and seem to feel most comfortable with one on and one off. But with that being said I still tend to fall in and out of pitch much more frequently then when I'm just practicing.

What about the volume? If you're sure your pitch is fine when just practicing, maybe it's just a case of finding the right balance?
Sometimes I'll adjust the mix to deemphasise anything off-putting. Maybe try boosting a strong melodic instrument like guitar or piano?

I normally only utilize 2 tracks. One for vocals and one for piano so I don't have much going on.

But I am pretty new to computer recording so I do have a hard time with finding a good balance without anyone helping me.

Could it possibly be the headphones I'm using? I know the 380s are good headphones, but everyone has a different preference. Does anybody have any other recommendations for vocal tracking headphones?