Is it really YOUR song?

Gear_Junky

I'm fairly new to songwriting, but not to poetry and I've been playing guitars and basses for about 4 years now. I also play drums.

Anyway, very often, when a song sounds "good" to me, it also sounds "familiar" and I begin to wonder whether I unintentionally just went with somebodyelse's melody. Has anybody else noticed that with their songs?

Also, I often find myself trying to sing to a chord progression. I realize, a song should start with a melody and then chords are just a frame of the picture, but it's hard to apply that practically (for me). Very often I wonder how many cool songs there are, based on just 3-4 chords, simple progressions, but really nice melodies. Now, how do I do that?! :) Thanks.

dat's not just dem!

Most rock songs are like that. Even if they're in different keys, the changes are still the same. I believe that too, you don't have to compose a classical cadence to write a good tune (well, actually I-IV-V is a classical cadence too, but I mean more complicated things). Only I'm having trouble coming up with melodies first. Just thought we'd discuss it.

I very rarely write a melody first. Usually I will find an
interesting chord progression and go from there, nothing wrong with that. I usually write lyrics last, after the chord progression I will incorportate the melody line I devise and write the lyrics to that. If I write lyrics first
the mood they set usually dictate the type of song it will be. I rarely write 1 4 5 progressions and the ones that I have written were dictated by lyrics being written first.

Yes, there are only 12 notes, "there is nothing new under the sun".(Ecc. Bible) You really cant help it and there is nothing wrong with it. As long as it doesnt remind you of
a band you hate your doing allright.

I usually get the melody in my head first.