Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New reviews of indie music week of Oct.21st '02

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation New reviews of indie music week of Oct.21st '02

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi everyone,

    In case you've missed them, we've posted some new reviews of some really great tracks from new independent artists. Newest reviews include:

    Mullet by The B.O.G. (Rock)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/p...g_mullet.shtml

    Mardi Gras by ONOFFON (Latin Jazz)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/j...ardigras.shtml

    Too Many Geniuses by John Thomas (Indie Rock)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/p..._toomany.shtml

    Find it by Rich Adonis (Progressive Rock)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/p...s_findit.shtml

    Dark Flight by Fuze (Acid Jazz)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/j...rkflight.shtml

    Perry Mason's Message by The Turgeson Board (Experimental Rock)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/p...rg_perry.shtml

    Not me by The Phoenix Trap (Rock)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/p...ap_notme.shtml

    Tiny Nucleus by OOZ (Electronic)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/e...ynucleus.shtml

    Night Visions by DJ Catatonic (Electronic)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/a...verafter.shtml

    Maybe by Serotonin (Alternative)
    http://www.mp3magazine.net/reviews/a...in_maybe.shtml

    You can check out the reviews that are up for these and other new artists at http://www.mp3magazine.net/ and in most cases you can download and listen to their music through links in the review for free. If you like any of these artists after checking our their tracks, let them know by showing your support by buying their albums, sending them an email or checking out their shows if they're in your town.

    MP3Magazine.net staff
    http://www.mp3magazine.net
    -A discovery point for new music-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Age
    68
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    Go ye forth and multiply.........yourself.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,092
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4230047
    What a racket. They charge $5 per song for a single review plus require that you run their banner.

    Then they come here and look for free advertising without asking permission.

    Shitheads. Don't patronize them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chee-Kah-Go, IL
    Age
    41
    Posts
    886
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216238
    seriously...

    I was wondering if I was the only one annoyed at this shit. absolutely no redeeming value to these posts....

    stone

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Wonderful and cheerful,sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,835
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    108703
    Originally posted by stonepiano
    seriously...

    I was wondering if I was the only one annoyed at this shit. absolutely no redeeming value to these posts....

    stone
    Happens...These guys come to your door stick their toe in throw dirt on your floor then try to sell you a vacum cleaner..I guess if you dont answer the door they will go away



    Don
    blessed are the cheese makers


    Don

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Originally posted by LI_Slim
    What a racket. They charge $5 per song for a single review plus require that you run their banner.

    Then they come here and look for free advertising without asking permission.

    Shitheads. Don't patronize them.
    We don't require that anyone runs any banners. MP3Mag is a non profit site and the sole purpose is to get the word out about new music and new artists. It's also designed to help artists make their tracks better by offering constructive advice on elements of the mix and the song itself. The donation fee simply allows us to pay for the rising server costs that are unfortunately associated with running the site. Additionally, it allows us to further promote artists by allowing us to run print ads etc to get people to check out new talent. In fact we'd prefer not to have to charge a fee to cover our costs, but the reality is you simply can't do it.

    There are other sites that do reviews that require a donation - it'd be great if people could also use them to get the word out about their music such as unsignedmusicreview.com and hitsession.com

    djcatatonic who is a larger NMA promoter on MP3.com has been really great in supporting the concept of getting the word out to a larger audience through sites like MP3mag through his site. Also, most any artist who has their tracks on MP3.com or Ampcast will probably have that $5 dontation paid for in a few days or weeks after a review goes live through their P4P as people check out their stuff through new reviews.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Age
    68
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    This forum is about Songwriting, not marketing your friggen cibermag. Move along now, or I'll have to call Officer Gidge!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chee-Kah-Go, IL
    Age
    41
    Posts
    886
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216238
    Originally posted by mp3mag


    We don't require that anyone runs any banners. MP3Mag is a non profit site and the sole purpose is to get the word out about new music and new artists. It's also designed to help artists make their tracks better by offering constructive advice on elements of the mix and the song itself. The donation fee simply allows us to pay for the rising server costs that are unfortunately associated with running the site. Additionally, it allows us to further promote artists by allowing us to run print ads etc to get people to check out new talent. In fact we'd prefer not to have to charge a fee to cover our costs, but the reality is you simply can't do it.

    There are other sites that do reviews that require a donation - it'd be great if people could also use them to get the word out about their music such as unsignedmusicreview.com and hitsession.com

    djcatatonic who is a larger NMA promoter on MP3.com has been really great in supporting the concept of getting the word out to a larger audience through sites like MP3mag through his site. Also, most any artist who has their tracks on MP3.com or Ampcast will probably have that $5 dontation paid for in a few days or weeks after a review goes live through their P4P as people check out their stuff through new reviews.
    don't justify what you're doing. At least put this in the marketing your music forum. there someone might be interested.

    btw, I'm in e-marketing myself and this is not the way to draw attention to your product/service. read instructions about where you post before you piss potential customers off....

    Miles Maxwell
    www.milesmaxwell.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Good point, we should have posted this in the music promotions forum. If the moderator wants he/she can close or delete this thread as it shouldn't be in this songwriters forum. Sorry for the confusion folks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •