new member hello

drhawks

Hello to all you songwriters !I wanted to introduce myself to you all and say hi.

I have been writing ( or trying to learn since 16 yrs of age) I am 40 now ( boo-hoo)

I took 10th place in Billboard Magazines Annual writing contest in 1990. ( so long ago).

I am currently working on a theme song for a Bob Seger website . The site is dedicated to persuade The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame to finally induct this great singer/songwriter.

I have barley begun the writing but I feel I'm off to a good start.

I am grateful to have found this site. It would be nice to discuss writing techniques with others.

Once again hello. By the way my name is Dan.

I wish you all a very Happy Easter Day!

Hello,

Aimee Mann is 40. Sheryl Crowe is 41. Rachid Taha (french singer) is 44. Amr Diab - Egyptian Singer is 41. And they are all goood songwriters and serious babes. So dry your eyes - no boohoo no cry!

(40 is the new 30!)

Welcome Dan

I just turned 40 in January. Don't have your writing experience (I'm a relative newbie) but I still like doing it.

See ya 'round

Thank You all for the warm welcome. It is very appeciated.

I was wonderng if there are chat sessions available here?

Thanks again

Dan.

You're lookin at it my man.
The only other thing is get hooked up with someone that has Yahoo messenger or something like that.

bd

Songwriting Techniques

Songwriting seems to be approached in lots of ways, but what works for me is to try to get a mood thing going. (Usually have a relationship end badly and mope about it). Sometimes I write a song in about 5 minutes, sometimes 5 months (you come back to them and fiddle around)