Need some tips and advice on my cover, new to recording. [Cover]

tristeville

Hey I'm really new to recording and everything and I just needed some tips on how to make my vocals sound more crisp and professional sounding.
I know it has something to do with EQ and I'm watching tutorials on how to properly EQ vocals.
What i'm clueless about is compression/reverb/delay etc.
Well anyways here's my cover:

https://soundcloud.com/sugoisugoi/the-way-i-am

Thanks for your feedback, I hope one day I can sound like an actual musician! :guitar:

Sounds pretty good to me honestly. Voice sounds very nice. Maybe someone else will chime in with something to change.

Your voice is very good. You have good pitch control. So I'll start with standard advice.
Breathing techniques: start by breathing in for one beat and out for 7 whenever you walk, that really helps diaphragm usage, breath control, etc. This is my favorite control exercise and takes no additional time out of your day, just have to remember to do it.
Pitch techniques: practice with an instrument. Play a note, sing the note. Play another note (specific intervals: minor third, major third, fourth, fifth, octave), sing the new note with, but especially without glissando. When you get in your head where the jumps are, start playing the base note and singing the jumps without playing them first. Then hit the note to see if you hit it well. Record yourself doing this (and the instrument) so you can listen back and see if you had to slide when you hit the second note on the instrument.

As a side note, at 1:56 your voice went from IV to IIm and the guitar chord didn't follow. Playing along in F-Bb-C, your guitar should drop to Gm at that point...