Need help with my vocal

whitechild

Hi guys,
I'm Ivan, and I'm totally new to this forum. I am a singer and composer, and I need an advice about vocal.
I'm baritone. The most difficult part for me is to make my vocal sit nicely in the track, because it's pretty deep and it's fighting with bass. If I cut lower frequencies, it often becomes empty and unnatural sounding. I also can't make my vocal "pop" in those higher frequencies, so it sometimes sounds muddy.
So, I'm experimenting a lot, and sometimes I get good results with lots of compression, equalization, deessing etc...but sometimes, when I work on a loud tracks (like dance/electronica genre) I can't get satisfactory results.
I found out that "sprectraPhy" works nicely to bring my vocal out of the muddiness, but I was wondering if any of you has some advice when these kind of deep male voices are in question.
Thanks in advance!
Ivan

Experiment with taking things out of the mix (temporarily) that might be masking these lower ranges, this give clues as to where you might want to cut/trim/tone balance or reduce the volume of those tracks, and second, insight as to how the vocal might need to be eq'd to fit.
Usually somewhere between those two is a mix'.
BTW, welcome. :drunk:

Thanks for your quick answer! I understood what I have to do.
What about higher frequencies? Is there any frequency range that I have to bring up to open my vocal a bit? Does it differs from tenors, altos and sopranos?
I read somewhere that I have to bring up frequencies around 3KHz a bit?

Hey Serbia?, for real? Wow. :)
3k is part of the presence/brightness’ range, but only part of it. Look at live' mic curves -rises in the 4-7k band, sometimes higher.
But I'm from the 'each frequency band has it's tone and place in the spectrum, and each is what it is and dose what it does 'universally' and what’s needed is case specific school-of-thought.