Music Theory vs Playing by ear

I-AM

Hi all,

I was going to do a post, but I think they kind of annoy people to a certain extent. Anyways....
I was wondering who knows music theory and what their views on it were as far as advancing in creating songs and etc. Do you believe in it or do you pass it to the side and say "Just play"?
For a long time I have dibbled and dabbled in playing the guitar and piano with no theory background. Funny because after much time of practice you begin to know the instrument and what chords or sound you are looking for.
Hopefully in time I will reach a comfortable balance between a good "sounding" song, and a good "sounding mix".
But I would love to hear some of the views from members of this site.

I'm studying music theory at brussels conservatory right now... Music theory is just a way to learn music. Just a way to make you understand what's happening, and in my eyes, it'll just speed up the proces of learning to play 'by ear'. It just makes you realize what it is you hear and why you hear it that way...

Music is only 'by ear' to me. Theory is a way to get it there more quickly. Learn the changes, then forget about them.... (As charlie parker once said, and all the jazz-teachers after him too I guess....)

I studied music theory a while back. I went to music school for a couple years. I barely remember anything I learned.

There's all kinds of areas to develop in music. Creativity, technique, theory, feel, understanding of the physics, etc.

It all depends on what interests you most. I was amazed by the composition majors who could write pieces on paper knowing exactly what they would sound like when performed by an ensemble. If that is what you are interested in - learn theory.

I bet that most people who can improv over complex changes have a good grasp on theory.