lyricist needs paid gig

GigiMac

Dear Tune Personages,
I have been writing lyrics for maybe ten years, never seriously thought to get paid for them, but find I need the money right now. I am hoping someone here can steer me as to where to look for musicians who want the words or a website that buys them to sell to others. I am disabled, so it'll have to all be done via the computer somehow.

I also am currently working on a whole song, which over the years I have been doing not only lyrics, but tunes too, note-by-note, scattered in various papers around the house, but this one I'm going to try to put my own lyrics to my own tune, and for a change come up with the whole deal. I just never have put my words to my own tunes. I sing badly all the time, jot down new tunes if they sound good. Lyrics are the same way, a separate kind of process, I think of a few opening lines, and out comes the whole verse. I play piano a little and a couple other instruments, enough to where after I jot down the dots on a scale, I can bang it out on the piano.

Anywaaaaay, I am way off subject. I can write lyrics without music, as long as I have the rhythm and style. I did this one time when it was really hot outside, we had a heat wave a few years back, and I got so into the words that were coming out, that I hummed a dreadful blues rhythm in the style of B.B. King to tighten it up, and it began like this:

It's just so hot outside
I want to see you darlin
It's just so hot outside
You know I want you darlin
Seems every day is hotter than the day before.
copyright GG 2004