I finally finished something!!

Layla Nahar

I've been posting here for about 2 years - the one big issue I have had is about how much my stuff sucks. I have hated almost everthing I have done so much that I have been unable to finish it.

Anyway, I have finally finished a piece and put it on soundclick. Its really nothing great - (the melody really doesn't deveop - its more of a motif), or even production wise - (no mids at all) but i FINISHED IT!!!! The one cool thing is that I programmed the underlying groove myself - its not a loop

So, if anybody here remembers me from about a year ago, I'd really like it if you could check this out.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/laylanaharmusic.htm

oh - its not got any lyrics - I just really wanted to tell some of the people here who have been so supportive of me over these two years that I finally have put a piece of my music out for review and criticism by my peers. Its a big step. I FINISHED something!

LN

ps: the one thing that has really helped me lately is realizing that musically, I am where a lot of people were when they were 14 or 15, had been playing guitar for a year or two, and were just *starting* to get serious. Makes a big difference in what you can do if you have more realistic expectations.

pps: thanks in advance for any feedback.

Here's my opinion (you did ask): it sounds a bit like the Orbital song the box, which I love, by the way. But your tune is too short and needs something in the higher frequencies to bring the mood up a bit and balance the bass/drums. A 303 riff? Piano? Depends where you want to take it.

I liked the way the song builds, and I think you can stretch it further.

:)

mook said:
Here's my opinion (you did ask): it sounds a bit like the Orbital song the box, which I love, by the way. But your tune is too short and needs something in the higher frequencies to bring the mood up a bit and balance the bass/drums. A 303 riff? Piano? Depends where you want to take it.