How did you learn to sing?

How did you learn to sing?

• I taught myself

Votes: 86 58.1%
  • I took lessons (how many years until you were happy with your voice?)

Votes: 21 14.2%
  • I can't sing

Votes: 25 16.9%
  • Other (explain)

Votes: 16 10.8%

• Total voters

himynameisbuddy

I picked "I taught myself" - I used to not be able to carry a note with a backpack, but once I started playing guitar, it came real naturally/easily.

I am self-taught, but I am sure that lessons would help..... to lazy......

I learned to croak out the songs I was writing in high school and as the songwriting progressed, my singing did too. I would call myself a singer/songwriter, but I would not ever define myself as a real "singer."

The one thing that I can do well, given my limited range, is sing harmony. As a bass player in bands over the years, it has greatly increased my marketability and I really love to sing harmony with a strong singer. It is an entirely different mindset than singing the lead vocal.

I am STILL not really comfortable singing the lead on a song on gigs, unless I am doing a song showcase of original material.....

bilco

It's been a while now but from what I remember I started out singing harmonies. It was a combination of what sounded good with the chords I was playing or what was on the record. I moved to lead singing as a matter of necessity, and I think the higher harmonies helped me develop my voice for lead. I still enjoy singing harmonies whenever I can.

Grew up in a musical family (not quite the Von Trapps, but lots of singing) and it just sort of happened; no one specifically taught me at home.

Studied drama and music at college and had formal singing lessons there – didn’t really change my voice but it certainly improved capacity and how I phrased and analysed melodies.