Harmonies

TAE

All you have is now
Going to a Catholic school as a kid, singing / music was an actual part of the curriculum and we were graded on it. I sang in Church growing up and took a voice class in College, I've sung both leads and backups in Rock Bands as an adult. Unlike my daughters I never sang in a choral group that did unique harmonies.

I just didn't realize how complex and deep they can be. When my Line 6 UX8 crashed and burned a few weeks ago I broke out a TC Helicon Vocal harmonizer "Quintet" I had purchased ages ago as a vocal preamp before I was computerized.

I started playing with it and singing a few songs with the digital harmonies and was intrigued because some sounded pretty flipping awesome. I then looked into the Carpenters, Beach Boys and Queen harmonies. Being a "by ear" musician I just had no idea of the depth and complexity of some these...wow!

I'm still a newb to laying down tracks and have kept it pretty simple as far lots of tracks... I am getting more comfortable with using Reaper and planning on attempting to pull off some these more complex productions.

Any of ya's already doing it? If so lets hear what ya got and your insight into how you go about it.

Is there anything specific you were wondering?

I do vocal arrangements the old fashioned way, one track at a time. I average 16-24 vocal tracks on a song, depending on what I'm trying to pull off. I stopped using pitch correction a couple years ago and now just re-track it (sometimes many many times) til I hit it. The usual techniques.. a lot of doubling, harmonies really wide, main vocals really narrow. But there are exceptions, like I have one where there's a call-and=response between two groups one leans more to the left, and one to the right.