Harmonies

Very similar story. I grew up in the Catholic school and sang in choir. Rock bands. Now basement.
Like you I came across a software harmonizer.
I did this tune for that.
A single vocal line with 3 harmonics added by machine.
I had to set the harmonizers up for specifics like 3rds and 6ths.
I learned pretty quickly that I could alter the sound by doing a "wha wha" inflection. There is a term for that.
It was fun.

This is really interesting. I've never tried these harmonisers before and my approach to harmonies and backing vocals is pretty basic and often involves scratching around like a blind chicken. I can usually pitch to a fifth or an octave to harmonise, but besides that I've no real idea.

So do you punch the key into the harmoniser then - because you'd need to know whether to flatten the 3rds and 6ths depending on whether it was the major or minor key? Any recommended software ones to play around with?

One thing I can see being fun would be to create the initial harmonies with the tool and then use them as a guide to re-track against.

On harmonies in general, I'm just not good or experienced enough to know what the various constituent parts being sung are when I hear a song that uses them heavily. Maybe this would be a good way to start recognising the patterns.

The TC Helicon I have can be driven from MIDI and used live, and you essential play the chord, it figures out the notes in it and then take the mic input and creates the notes - you select things like how many voices below and above and stuff like that. It's actually quite good when dropped in and out live. However, it can only do parallel harmony, so while one or two voices can be held on, if their note is common to both chords, you can't have movement within a chord - or of course has instead of words. That all said, musically and quality wise, they're now no longer the robotic sounding things they were.