Fuzziness/scratchy - me or microphone?

Aaralyn

Hello! I am still very new to recording and music production, learning as I go. I am using an Audio-Technica AT2020 condenser microphone, and the gain is set fairly low. At the loudest point in this dry clip (attached to this post, I hope) it reaches -12db on the meter, not close to the red zone. But on the louder parts, it sounds fuzzy/raspy/kind of distorted. I hear it at other places too. I'm not sure if that's the microphone or my voice. I've had this microphone for a year and a half, it was the first one I purchased. I haven't looked into others yet. I read it could possibly be moisture? I'm also reading more about how to get the best sound in a home studio! Thank you for listening and offering suggestions! ~Aaralyn

View attachment Waterfall.mp3

I only noticed something obvious right around 10.5s+ and that sounded like your voice losing some focus. Maybe be more specific about exactly where you're hearing this, and how you are listening? Have you tried listening on different devices, to rule out components in the playback chain?

Are you using a pop screen and staying away from the mic itself? If you're inside and have a decent amount of working distance it shouldn't be getting affected by moisture, IME.

This is a good one - and I suspect not your voice or probably the mic. What is the chain of kit - the mic I suspect we discount - although there is a possibility that your voice at that point was overloading the preamp. It's a strange sound in the background - couldn't hear it on my laptop but in the studio it's absolutely there.

EDIT