'empty' tracks..

Tifstorey

Guinea Pig
Hi,

Ive been writing electronic ambient tracks for about 60 months now. Influenced alot by Zero 7, Massive Attack etc. Basically, recently when ive been recording tracks, they seem really empty, and i cant think of anything else to add to them.. I always start of with a bass line, then add a drum beat. Once i have that i add a treble instrument like an acoustic guitar or rhodes piano. Ive been thinking it could be that they dont contain vocals, but i hear alot of other tracks that dont contain vocals, but these sound full etc.

I tried adding different ambient 'noises' to the tracks but this just gives it a muddy unclear sound... Does anyone else experience this? Know what i could try to possibly give my tracks a more 'fuller' feeling?

as usual, thanks for any suggestions!

Peace

How much are you doubing parts? Playing guitar chords with different voicings? Don't pan everything hard. Utilize the 25%, 50%, and 75% marks (or any varient of these).

Post something we can listen to, I bet you'll get a lot of suggestions...

Not sure how much this'll help

give it some synth!

Ambient reverb does create a wash of noise but eventually it will just blur the image. Have you seen the Spectrasonics Atmosphere? A wonderful sounding synth that creates interesting textures that make a massive difference. There are hundreds of synths that'll do the job... this one is just particularly pleasing.

Also layering is essential. It doesn't have to be thousands of tracks but little hints of subtle sounds allow the (sometimes herb awoken) mind to drift. The great thing about those artists music is that if you listen to it several times, each time you'll hear something new buried in the mix.

A little ambient reverb at the end to blend it together but keep it minimal.

If the songs "feel" like they might be missing vocals to you, then maybe they lack a lead instrument?

Is everything so focussed on the rhythm of the song that a melody is missing?