Dork trying to write serious lyrics

SnakeDog5050

2 headed snake witha rake
Hi everyone, this might be bad, this might not make sense, but I thought I'd give these lyrics a shot in this forum. I have no experience as far as writing serious lyrics go. I usually write dorky stuff that doesn't make sense and just have fun with it.

Even though I recorded a demo with these, it's a work in progress so any feedback/suggestions are appreciated. Feel free to be as harsh you want too, it'll only help me learn ;) And yeah, throw out any suggestions or ideas you want to also, who knows... maybe this will end up being dorky too.

(Verse 1)
She asked me if I remember
when we were young
and when we were free?

we were free as an eagle
no worries
but the more you learn
the more you learn there's no answer to

so if I had a time machine
I'd go back and remember
because...

(chorus1 repeated)
You were my queen and I was your king
and now there's a thousand miles between!

(guitar solo)

(verse 2)
She said it doesn't matter
it never matters when
we met here
35 years old or 10 years old
its the same stars
its the same trees
its the same old forest
things can always be the same
we'll be forever young!!!!

(chorus 2 repeated)
You are my queen and I am your king
Now there's nothing between!

Oh yeah, and I have a demo of this song recorded already, but since I'm going to rerecorded

Doesn't sound bad for a first try at the serious stuff, but I do have some objections.

You're using a lot of cliches. "Free as an eagle," "Forever young," the whole first stanza. I hear you can "work this out of your system" by just keeping writing and listening to different music - you'll get a feel for what's been overdone.

Verses are typically the same musically. The lyrics should therefore have the same or similar rhythm, so they fit the music both times. There's supposed to be variation, of course, but this looks like a lot more than variation.