Copyright Questions

RobertPhilbeck

Hello all,
Ive been studying up on this stuff, and Im starting to grasp the concept, but I have a few questions I hope someone can answer for me.
What are the funny little names that musicians come up with at the end of copyright info? ex. "(c) 1975 Fingers Music", or (c) 1976 Big Oak Tree Music". DBA names? if so, how does one list copyright info on their musical composition without having to create a DBA name? (c)2000 Insert The Writer's Name Here Music? As far as I know it requires a business license and a whole hoopla of things that probably are not nessecery since Im just starting out. Am i correct?
Next, out of about 13 songs we have written we have recorded 4 onto a compact disc that we plan to give out to friends, and potential managers. I plan to go ahead and register the unrecoreded material on PA form. And I will register the recorded songs as well. Should I go ahead and do an SR form for the 4 recorded songs? Are the four recorded songs considered published even though its on such a small level, and we are not a licensed publishing co? We are indeed distributing the recordings ourselves. Also, how do I list copyright info on the CD where ownership of the sound recording is concerned. The Bass player and I recorded and engineered the whole thing. (p)2000 Make Up A Name Here Records, or just (p)2000 and our legal names? Seems like anything other than our legal names after the copyright would require a business licence.

Thanks, and please correct me if I am misguided.

Robert

hey dude.if you go online to the library of congress you can get all of the information about copyright laws that you will need and then some.hey break a leg with the album.
jimini2001