Confused Newbie Struggling With Chord Progression

Rocha06

When you're picking up your acoustic guitar to write a song, do you always know the right chords to use?
I mean, you start the song with, for example, an Em. Then you move to an Am, a G and so and so...but, since I'm a newbie, I find it a little confusing sometimes and I tend get lost on the melody, not knowing the next chord to choose. And a lot of times it becomes messy and I completely forget what I was trying to do in the first place. How do you know when to use a Dm7? Or an Asus4? Or an Fmaj7? Pluse, whenever I use the standard Am, C and Em sequence(in that order) I remember the melody to U2's New Year's Day and I can't shake it off!! Does that happen to any of you?
Can you guys give me any tips? Or is this a stupid, stupid question?

Yeah, I know what you're talking about. With the familiar melodies thing (eg. New Year's day) you can start forcing yourself out of it by mixing it up. Try an F instead of the C or A, for example. Also alter the ryhthm and timing?

And I don't always know the chords to go to. Its easy enough to find "A" chord that works, but its frequently not really the best one. Usually its in the I, IV, V pattern somewhere- one of them will work. If that's too boring or not quite the right flavor for my melody, I'll find the weak link and sing that note of the melody over the rest of the chords in the scale until I find one I like better. Then sometimes I'll take the NOTE of the chord that makes it work with that part of the melody and try chords OUT of the scale that have that note in it.

As far as being messy and forgeting what you're trying to do... I (try to) beat that by playing each section through from the beginning when I make a change later on. Repetition helps iron out the feeling of getting lost- and you can't really go on and build on something if you don't have it down. If that makes any sense...

Take care,
Chris