co-writing & politics

NationalSandwic

Hello.

I need some advice or suggestions re: co-writing. I play in a band that I have just started. I didn't recruit people and say 'this is my band', we're all old acquaintances that came decided to start a project. I have written a lot of my own stuff but I am a complete newbie to the concept of co-writing. Enter the politics of music.

I don't want to waltz in and tell people what to play. They are all good musicians with stuff to contribute. I write a lot of stuff and have a lot of basically complete material that I want to use. The other songwriter also has material that he has worked on. Here is the problem:

Whenever we get together to jam/rehearse, we end up doing nothing constructive and writing new material off the cuff that is farcical, because it turns into a joke session. We all have fun and enjoy a good laugh, but there has to come a time when everyone focuses. There is an issue about whose songs we should play and how much we can change them (musos... go figure, all self-centred bastards).

Is there any method to get around this. We just can't seem to make progress. Surely there are people here that co-write with others... what have you done to avoid a huge conflict? Any suggestions?

Thanks
NS

I guess it depends how complete your songs are, and whether you 'need' any more input on what may or may not be needed to improve the song(s). I was fortunate for awhile, in that I worked with a few people who would play the parts that I had in mind and just follow through.

Again, how you present the parts to various musicians in the band is key.

Easier just to be rid of them all and record everything yourself.... :) Not really.

On your songs, yes - waltz in and tell (suggest, nicely or otherwise) people what to play - only way to do it. And when other members come up with material, be the opposite. Unless of course, their music sucks. Then well.. .