Cardioid mics and shouting/hardcore vocals

ShoutOutKid

Hi everybody,

I'm totally new to home recording and just started a transatlantic recording project with my former band mate. I tried recording my vocals for a track with my Audio Technica USB cardioid mic and GarageBand 11 but the problem was that even when I turned the Recording Level all the way down to 1% the recording was still peaking (although the volume of it was quiet). I started wondering, are cardioid mics too sensitive for that kind of singing or is there something I can do to make the levels good and sound clear without any peaking?

I had a pop screen and my distance from the mic was about 6-7 inches.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Hi everybody,

I'm totally new to home recording and just started a transatlantic recording project with my former band mate. I tried recording my vocals for a track with my Audio Technica USB cardioid mic and GarageBand 11 but the problem was that even when I turned the Recording Level all the way down to 1% the recording was still peaking (although the volume of it was quiet). I started wondering, are cardioid mics too sensitive for that kind of singing or is there something I can do to make the levels good and sound clear without any peaking?

I had a pop screen and my distance from the mic was about 6-7 inches.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Cardioid is a polar pattern. That tells you what direction the microphone is able to pickup sound from, but doesn't tell you anything about sensitivity, or output relative to input.
If you take an sm7b and a rode nt1a for example - both have cardioid patterns but the sm7b will have a much lower output level.

If turning the 'recording level' down to 1% yields a quiet clipped recording, then the 'recording level' is probably an attenuator after amplification.
What you want is a gain control; this controls how much the signal is amplified.