Bad Sound

Sampson

I am a bad musician with a lousy voice. I have no training in music or writing. I have never played in a band and I have no desire to be a performer. I picked up the guitar as way to release and create and found that I do have a gift for writing lyrics and melody. I am recording songs in my basement on an a 4-track.
My question is this, is there a place for good songs that are poorly performed and recorded. I have a great passion for music as an art form but, realistically, I could never make the cut as a singer/songwriter/musician. I just would like to see if there is any interest in what I create or an outlet for someone to rework things that I have started.
I have to admit though, in creating for my own appreciation, I'm free of judgement, or need, other than my own simple pleasure. I'm afraid that inviting people into what I do may alter my approach and have a negative affect on my art. Maybe I will start to feel boundaries. Maybe I will develop a need for approval that overrides my need for expression. Maybe I will slowly lose the joy that comes from music. Maybe I will grow to resent my being gifted. Maybe I will die alone and naked in a motel room in Vegas. Maybe I'll just stop ranting and head to my basement. SEEYA!

Publish them
or sell them or something

and have someone else perform them

or get together with a band or someone who can really sing/play
and have them perform/record/whatever your songs

First of all, if you can write good songs, than the fact that you're a "bad musician" doesn't matter worth shit. I think punk rock and folk have taught us that. Sometimes being able to keep things simple is a really great quality. I think most heavy metal bands taught us that (by not keeping it simple, and sucking because of it).