Untrained singer looking for feedback

Big Thier

Hi guys, I usually post in the mix section but this time I would like some feedback/critics on my singing. I've been singing for about 4 years, but have never taken lessons (I know I should, and I will soon). Obviously, my vocals are heavily tuned on my songs, but I'm looking to identify mistakes in the way I sing, like my breathing, if I strain too much, etc. Also, any comments about my vocal range, if it is considered average or high for a male, and if I'm a tenor or what. Thank you.

Music | Eve Of Spring

If you use autotune, I am not sure you need any special "breathing" technique. As for range, the range of autotune should be available in the software package specification.

The questions you have asked relate more to singing without autotune. Nothing wrong with singing for autotune, if that is the way you want to go. That itself is likely to become an artform (but I know nothing about it). Autotune is now a sound.

If you are asking about singing raw, so to speak, a clip of your singing with the background music very quiet or muted would be most helpful.

Autotune is now a sound.

If you're referring to that overused, beaten to death Autoune "chirp" that's been used by every R&B artists for the last 10 years...and that was originally first used by Cher on her "Believe" song...

...no, it is not a "now sound"...and people need to simply STOP using it as a vocal effect.
It's done...over...just STOP.

AFA using autotune for actual pitch correction (without the "chirp" effect)...hey, do what you have to. Even the best vocalists need some help, and are not able to always hit everything perfectly. You just don't want to depend on autotune as a way making you sound better as a singer.

To the OP...

The vocals in the first song (left to right) are reaching way to far. Basically there are just too many words to phrase comfortably within that rhythm.