Starting to learn to sing, critiques and things to work on please!!

gerigaming

Hello! I'm a complete beginner to singing, and I would like to improve at least a bit before vocal lessons which I've decided to do this year. I know there will be quite a few things off with my voice, but any specific things to work on straight away would be greatly appreciated!

Here ---> ( soundcloud.com/harriet-kay-451406949/redditsinging ) is a clip of me singing, I tried to chose a song that is mainly in my range

Sorry for the small laugh near the start of my singing, I realized it was there after I exported the file :)

Thanks a lot!

Many things to work on imo,
I can hear flat vocals need to work on your pitch.
You have to working on breathing techniques you're going out of breath.
Give your singing some dynamics like low on some parts and you chest voice ie., high in some parts.

Nikhil makes some good points.
The first question I need to ask is ~ do you play or have any access to a musical instrument like a keyboard of some sort or a guitar ? Reason I ask is this; I can hear a partially decent voice in there but singing to ready made bits of music is not ideal for being able to hear yourself and for differentiating notes. In my opinion {and it is only that} the most important thing a singer can do is be able to sing in tune. Sure, in any given song, if a note or two is a tiny bit off here and there, it may not be a deal breaker. But for me it's non~negotiable; You have to be able to sing in tune. Otherwise how is a listener going to know how the song you are singing goes ? In the same way a click or metronome is an infallible timing device, notes on an instrument are likewise for pitch. If you play a sequence on an instrument of, say, A B D E F F# G C, as you play each note you can hear the difference. No two of those notes sounds the same. Well, you should be able to do that with your voice.