Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Objective opinions on my singing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Objective opinions on my singing

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hello! Can I get some opinions on my singing?

    Vocaroo | Voice message
    Vocaroo | Voice message
    Vocaroo | Voice message


    How do you find the first one in particular? My first time trying to add an instrumental Which one do you think sounds the best (or least worse LUL) out of those recordings?
    Last edited by smurferoni; 07-09-2018 at 09:59.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    2,579
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 353 Times in 321 Posts
    Rep Power
    3901875
    First one? I can only see one? can't compare?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah, sorry, the soundcloud links didn't work so I just uploaded to vocaroo and edited it, should work now!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    463285
    I don't know what "objective opinion" is, only subjective opinion. So...

    Sounds like something funny is going on. The way you are singing with hardly any support to your breath, I am surprised that you stay on pitch like that...

    So, what are you up to?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kickingtone View Post
    I don't know what "objective opinion" is, only subjective opinion. So...

    Sounds like something funny is going on. The way you are singing with hardly any support to your breath, I am surprised that you stay on pitch like that...

    So, what are you up to?
    Haha, yeah, I run out of breath really quick even though I'm fairly fit. But I guess that doesn't go hand in hand with being able to control your breathing in singing. I need to work on it a ton for sure.
    What do you mean with "Sounds like something funny is going on." and "What are you up to?" I'm not a native speaker, excuse me
    As for what I meant with 'objective' opinion, I've mostly asked friends

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    463285
    Quote Originally Posted by smurferoni View Post
    What do you mean with "Sounds like something funny is going on." and "What are you up to?" I'm not a native speaker, excuse me
    As for what I meant with 'objective' opinion, I've mostly asked friends
    I mean that I would have expected the level of lack of breath support you are using would require some form of pitch correction processing afterwards, for it to stay on pitch.

    And, well, I don't count my opinions as "objective". They are just opinions, like everybody else's.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    2,579
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 353 Times in 321 Posts
    Rep Power
    3901875
    The recording quality is poor. The mic technique is poor. The tone of the voice captured by the mic is poor. A decent mic and good recording technique and maybe Soundcloud vs a dictation site might reveal your voice to be good. We simply don't know because the defects in the recording put the recording out of context.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kickingtone View Post
    I mean that I would have expected the level of lack of breath support you are using would require some form of pitch correction processing afterwards, for it to stay on pitch.

    And, well, I don't count my opinions as "objective". They are just opinions, like everybody else's.
    Yeah, in the first recording I've just added the first part of the song again without actually singing it if that's what you are asking?

    And Yeah @rob , that's all true, I'll try to see if I can get to post through soundcloud Can you tell me how exactly do I embed it ? I tried with the instructions but it didn't seem to work

    Does the track need to be public on soundcloud for me to embed it here? I copy the code and paste it here:

    <iframe width="100%" height="300" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" allow="autoplay" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/468597459&color=%23ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_ reposts=false&show_teaser=true&visual=true"></iframe>

    How do I need to post it for it to work ?
    Last edited by smurferoni; 07-18-2018 at 04:07.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Undisclosed
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,736
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 375 Times in 366 Posts
    Rep Power
    19301283
    Your recording chain makes it really difficult to gauge how good your vocal performance is. It sounds like it was run through a telephony compressor (like Skype or a phone microphone).

    That said, from what I can hear, the third one is probably the strongest. You sound kind of hesitant and halting on all three, but it matches the softness of falsetto better.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok guys, I can make soundcloud work now. Here are the recordings with better quality (especially the first one)



    Can you rate them 1/10 and tell me which one do you find the best (or least worst LOL)! I don't mind bluntness at all

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on my singing? :-)
    By violetvioletta in forum Vocal Technique & Processing
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-22-2015, 13:53
  2. NOOB singer here, please listen! need objective opinions!
    By besthellbunny in forum Vocal Technique & Processing
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 17:11
  3. Need some objective opinions on this mix!
    By adamjuresko in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 06:18
  4. New Uigg recording, looking for objective opinions
    By TrevorQ in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 14:12
  5. Need Objective Opinions
    By NakedJim in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 17:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •