Making drum loops sound realistic

calimoose

I'm victim to EZdrummer loops. I'm not a drummer and have no access to a real kit, let alone a properly miked one. So sometimes, I just pick loops and accept that they will sound like ass.

A fellow HRer provided some info to help remedy this sickness, and I think it would be useful for everyone to read (should you have similarly weak drum loops on your tracks):

There are four common occurrences that are dead giveaways for fake drums:

1) Drum programmers aren't drummers. Not much you can do about that, but being an actual drummer myself, I hear a lot of fills and beats that sometimes just can't happen with a real human drummer. A drummer has two hands and two feet.Two of those hands are hitting drums, the feet work the kick drums, hi-hat, maybe a cowbell, whatever. You can't have too many things landing on the same beat. How can two toms be hit at the same time as two cymbals? They can't, unless you have an octopus playing the drums. In that same vein, and this is the harder part for programmers, they try to fill too much space with too many drums. Real drummers like to bang around, but a good drummer doesn't cram every available space with fills, beats, cymbal crashes, ghost hits, etc. A good drummer plays the song. Listen to AC/DC. Phil Rudd does nothing behind the kit, but very few bands have the locomotive rock drive that AC/DC does. It's a like a Panzer tank flying down a mountain. Keep it simple and keep it like a real drummer would play it if you can. Naturally some genres like prog have more complicated drums. Then you can go wild, but still keep it within the limits of an actual human with only two hands and two feet.