What would you do with this room?

tobinharris

Hi folks

I'm a hobbyist considering treating this room for tracking vocals and acoustic guitar at the same time.

I'd like to keep it light if possible as it's also a 2nd spare room. My goals is to record some songs, just for the fun of it, but to a quality that is honest and good.

Don't really know what I'm doing. Have read stuff at GIK Acoustics and other places, pointing to the need for Rockwool wall panels and maybe a bass trap or two.

Here's the room

office.jpg

Ceiling height is fairly standard (2.2m I think).

For mixing I'm happy to use headphones, although do have some monitors.

My current thinking is:

office.jpg

• Desk middle of wall D with monitors either side on stands.
  • A few 4ft panels on wall D.
  • 4ft panels either side of desk on walls A and C.
  • 3-4 panels along wall C
  • Mic 2/3 along facing treated wall C with Aston Halo

Of just buy a GIK PIB and see if that helps?

What would you do?

Thanks in advance!

Tracking and mixing (with monitors) are different things. With a narrow room like that you are best to try to dampen as much of the reflections as you can. Do something with the corners. Your sidewall panels should be at the point of first reflection. Hang the panels on hooks so you can move them, or use them as gobos when tracking.

The desk location looks fine though I'd try to make sure the treatment on each side does cover those "first reflection" points, which should be balanced, i.e., in the same locations, even with nearfields monitors. And a couple of overhead "clouds" will make a difference both at the desk and where you record.

You could probably be closer to wall "b" for recording, assuming that's the direction you'd be facing.